Boker Kwaiken Wooden Mirror - Massdrop Exclusivesearch

Boker Kwaiken Wooden Mirror - Massdrop Exclusive

Boker Kwaiken Wooden Mirror - Massdrop Exclusive

bookmark_borderSave
Where's the price?
To negotiate the best possible price for our members, we must agree to hide our prices externally.


Add a comment...
Updated 10/12 via email

Hi everyone,
We have a quick update for you. We have now received these units to our warehouse and expect them to ship to you by the end of next week.
To compensate you for the delay and slow communication with this drop, we have processed a $10 partial refund for your order. You can expect to see the funds in your account in the next 2-3 business days.


Update 10/3
From Jonas (Massdrop Custom Products) - copied from below:

Hey everyone,

We know you've been waiting on this, and we appreciate your patience. Our team has been following up almost daily but had a hard time getting concrete info, but we finally have tracking info that shows the shipment is due to arrive at our warehouse this week, as early as tomorrow.

Our warehouse is currently experiencing an unusually high volume of shipments, so we don't have an exact date for them shipping out to members just yet. Once they arrive and have been processed by the receiving department, we'll update the group with a date by which you should see tracking info.

Thanks again for your understanding. If you have any questions or concerns, please click "Contact Support" in the Transactions area of your member profile so our team can reference your specific order.

-------
Update 9/30:

Boker has told us that they sent the latest batch of 800 units to us yesterday, so we expect them to arrive next week. Sorry for the additional delay on us receiving and sending out this drop. There will be some time needed for receiving, processing (quality control check), and then labeling and shipping, and these should be shipped out within 7-14 days of them landing in our warehouse.

I'll try and get more information on specific timeline along with pictures when they hit our warehouse, and will share an update with you all then. (Next update on or before: 10/9)

----
Hey all -
I wanted to provide an (overdue) update to you. Due to production taking longer than initially anticipated, these orders are shipping later than the original estimate. Based on the timing we’ve been given by Boker, we expect all orders to be shipped by 9/29 at the latest, but will be shipping orders out in batches as soon as they come in starting next week (9/11-9/15).
I know this delay is a disappointment, but I also know it’s way worse that we did not update you accordingly until now. Mistakes and delays happen, but it’s on us to be as upfront, timely, and consistent in communication with you about them as we can be. I’m sorry for the delay, and even more so for our poor communication. I’m working with the team to fix the breakdown in the process that led to lack of an update for so long. If you have feedback for me on this, feel free to reply here or reach out to me at brad.ross@massdrop.com.
If you would prefer to cancel your order, please contact Community Support using the “Contact Support” button on your transactions page and our Community Support Team will be able to help cancel your order up until it is ready for shipment.
Thank you.
Load 28 more comments
I received my knife yesterday as well. You are correct. The wood is ”natural “. No sealer, no protective coating. It will absorb any & all oil on your hand and will quickly discolor. FAIL.
operator1
I received my knife serial# 0951 this week as well. The blade is centered and no issues with the grinds. No dings or scratches on the scales but no sealer of any sort. Very dry..Since this is not a gift I coated the scales with Renaissance Wax, which I highly recommend. That was a very long wait but all said I'm pleased with this knife, but probably would not do this again.
Hey everyone,

We know you've been waiting on this, and we appreciate your patience. Our team has been following up almost daily but had a hard time getting concrete info, but we finally have tracking info that shows the shipment is due to arrive at our warehouse this week, as early as tomorrow.

Our warehouse is currently experiencing an unusually high volume of shipments, so we don't have an exact date for them shipping out to members just yet. Once they arrive and have been processed by the receiving department, we'll update the group with a date by which you should see tracking info.

Thanks again for your understanding. If you have any questions or concerns, please click "Contact Support" in the Transactions area of your member profile so our team can reference your specific order.
Load 4 more comments
Wait, there are options beyond "We appreciate your patience! But will not do anything to compensate you. Our bad we're over a month past the estimated ship date. Sucks to be you. Cancel your order or leave us alone?"
Yup, 6 months later not much has changed here far as I can tell.
Got my knife today (4/21/18). I just wanted to share some of my thoughts with the community because of all the bad knives that people were getting in the earlier drops. The reason I pulled the trigger on this was because it was definitely one of the coolest versions of the kwaiken ive ever seen and it was 99 bucks which is cheaper than any other kwaiken on BladeHQ.... So I pulled the trigger. How are they now? I've listed below the pros and cons of MY particular knife.


Boker Kwaiken Wooden Mirror #1203

CONS:

My knife was clearly opened before I got it. The silver safely seal was broken. I was a little bummed by this because on a brand new knife you wouldn't expect something like this. I suspect that Massdrop were conducting their own quality control because of all the bad knives that were going out earlier. I know it wasn't USPS because the massdrop padded envelope packaging was unmolested when i received it:
Second, the blade grind clearly favors the left side. Its not bad enough that I would send it back to MD, but its definitely there.
Third is that the blade shouldnt be advertised as a mirror finish. Its more like a hazy carnival fun-mirror if you catch my drift. If you put it right up against stuff like I did in my image and how they do it in the stock image, it will appear to be a mirror finish.... but anything over 3 inches away forget about it. I would say its more of a highly polished finish and not a mirror finish:

Now for the GOOD:

Knife is gorgeous. Scales are beautiful. However like people said before they do come unfinished so I recommend putting something like balistol or some other wood finish on it so your knife doesn't absorb any foreign liquids and stain.
Second, fit and finish are very nice. Blade is perfectly centered and the overall build is certainly of high quality. The blade could have come a bit sharper (can sort of shave but not really.) This isn't an issue for me because I enjoy putting my own edge on it anyways.
Overall: Good knife and if it drops again I recommend picking one up. For 99 bucks you cant beat it when you compare it to the standard kwaiken offerings.
BadComrade
Thanks for the writeup. My findings are similar and I really, really like this knife. Mine was also open and I imagine there was a QC check on these because mine had none of the problems mentioned earlier. Thanks Massdrop!
So.. if ordered now will It ship by 24th April ?? I'm thinking these comments are now dated??
A bit late but you know what they say....
Fortunately my Kwaiken arrived perfect!!!
thank you Boker and Massdrop! I’ve been fortunate enough to aquire several limited production Boker/Burnley Kwaikens for my collection and all are spot on!! This one is definitely my favorite!! The only question about this knife is, why was it sent out with unfinished scales? As for myself I don’t mind, I have already applied a few coats of wax and buffed it to a soft sheen. However from reading quite a few posts it has been a concern.
Load 1 more comment
Yes i do, you can also use linseed oil or oil and then wax after oil has been wiped off and is dried. The nice thing about wax is, it not only seals and protects the wood, it can give a bit of extra grip. Don’t feel you have to use bees wax, I have a friend that uses turtle wax on his 25k baby grand piano! Just apply your wax let it dry and buff with a lint free cloth. Do this several times and re apply as needed. Old cotton t shirts work Good for buffing. Good luc, I hope this helps.
Chris66
Thanks mate. Ive used boiled linseed on my axes before but i have some natural bees wax that i use on leather lying around so will give that a go.
Whats everyone treating the wood with? Boiled linseed? Wouldnt mind hearing/seeing pics of other options like wax.
No love for the lefties?
Load 1 more comment
I can never understand why a knife company would want to eliminate 10% of the worlds population from their list of potential buyers right off the bat. Frustrating.
Trvr2940
I never understand either. No money for them from me is all I say to it.
So who ended up getting #379?
I have to say I’m a bit disappointed here. The “mirror” polish shows clear grind lines. The knife itself is not bad so I’m not returning it or anything but if you’re looking for mirror, look elsewhere
From all the comments, this doesn’t sound like a $250 value as the MSRP suggests🤔. I have a mini Boker Kwaiken and feel like it’s a little over priced, but I still enjoy it for sure.
got one last time, it was a resounding "meh".
Load 4 more comments
Yeah I bet it is remaining inventory. Some of the folks said they got excellent wood handles. Guess it is up the luck of the draw.
wickett
i guess thats how it is with a natural material like wood too. good luck to ya, its a great looking knife in the product shots. hope the MDxboker stuff can up the QC cause i do like their offerings.